Burway Head

  • 7 December 2017
  • Alice Carrington-Windo

Burway Small Boats Head took place on Saturday 2nd December over a 3000m upstream course near Staines. With good water and weather conditions, 24 Hinksey crews raced on the day across a range of age groups and boat classes.

Seven crews won their category, demonstrating a good foundation for the club moving forwards into the next phase of the head racing season. Both senior girls quads placed first (J16 - Jojo Blyth, Helene Rittscher, Mae Willoughby and Harriet Wilson and J17 - Poppy Marshall, Bonnie Coughlan, Jess Foster and Alice Vine), each crew beating their opposition by a good margin. In the singles racing, too, the day proved a success, with Will Wakefield, Stanley Cannons, Andrew Clark and Jojo Blyth coming out on top in their categories. In a close field of J16 singles, Mae Willoughby also achieved joint 2nd with a sculler from Sir William Perkins, while Rafe Stanford-Meisl came a close second to Andrew. Rafe and Andrew joined forces to win the J17 2x title, and in the J16 2x category Freddie Trott and Aidan Forbes crossed the line just three seconds behind the winners of that event. All crews gained valuable racing experience on a tough course, which will prove useful as we move towards Oarschools Junior Sculling Head and Schools Head in March.

See the write-up in the Oxford Times here

WJ17 4x: Poppy Marshall, Bonnie Coughlan, Jess Foster and Alice Vine (1st out of 2)
WJ16 4x: Jojo Blyth, Helene Rittscher, Mae Willoughby and Harriet Wilson (1st out of 3)
WNov. 1x: Jojo Blyth (1st out of 5)
IM3 1x: Stanley Cannons (1st out of 4)
J17 2x: Rafe Stanford-Meisl and Andrew Clark (1st out of 3)
J18 1x: Will Wakefield (1st out of 7)
J17 1x: Andrew Clark (1st out of 7)
J17 1x: Rafe Stanford-Meisl (2nd out of 7)
WJ16 1x: Mae Willoughby (joint 2nd out of 9)
J16 2x: Freddie Trott and Aidan Forbes (2nd out of 6)
J18 2x: Hugo Binnian and Will Wakefield 
J18 2x: Will Sheel and David Angiolini 
WJ15 2x: Nia Matthews and Rebecca Marshall
WJ15 2x: Daisy O'Keefe and Hannah Wood 
WJ16 1x: Harriet Wilson 
WJ16 1x: Helene Rittscher 
WJ16 1x: Dearbhla Reale-Vargas 
WJ14 4x+: Meara James, Alice Channon, Eloise Krebs, Bea Myers, coxed by Alice Godley 
WJ16 2x: Phoebe May and Maddie Gorrell
WJ17 1x: Maryse Girgis 
WJ17 2x: Emma Foster and Jess Foster 
J18 1x: Stanley Cannons 
WJ14 2x: Bea Ferry and Alice Purvor 
WJ14 2x: Ruth MacGregor and Annaliese Bischoff 

Share this post